Welcome to the RevolutingNow Blog


 

About the site and its author

            This blog is dedicated to biblical discussions of genuine, apostolic Christianity with the intent of promoting a more radical, Jesus-centered life among believers. By “apostolic” I mean that I am interested in representing the church in the character it possessed in the apostolic age. Being apostolic is more about the character of the church than about the presence of people who call themselves apostles. Unfortunately, the character of today’s Western church is far from what it should be, and far from what it used to be. But I pray it is also far from what it soon will be. The future of the people of God is bright. God has a wonderful plan for his church to change the course of world history, and you and I are his chosen vessels to accomplish it.

The author of this blog is Steven Alt. I am an assistant professor of theology at FIRE School of Ministry in Concord, NC, just outside of Charlotte. I received my Master of Arts degree from Regent University, Virginia Beach, VA, in 1997, and I have been teaching and training radical missionaries and ministers of the gospel ever since. At FIRE we teach our students that God wants to use them to change the world, and that is the message of this blog. If you love Jesus and want to make a difference in this world, then this blog should help you. Although the direction of this blog is to promote a radical lifestyle among people who will be a part of the Jesus revolution, the articles I post will not primarily consist of propaganda, but of biblical articles teaching the way of Christ and emphasizing proper doctrine. The reason for this is simple. Jesus is the foundation of the Church, and anything we build must be built on the firm foundation of Jesus Christ as revealed in holy Scripture. Many ministries and churches are trying to be on the cutting edge, leading the church into the 21st century, but some of the most successful ones are not biblical in their approach or in their doctrine. Everything I write in this blog is dedicated to teaching sound doctrine, and I expect everything I say to be held up to the scrutiny of Scripture, for that is the foundation of what I teach.

Allow me to explain the title, “revolutingnow.” Our world today is rapidly descending into an abyss of moral depravity. The downward spiral Paul writes about in Romans 1:18-32 is happening before our very eyes. But the world’s problem is not its sin. We should expect them to be sinful; after all, they are the world. The world’s problem is not its own problems. Its problem is the lack of a mature, vibrant church to represent Jesus to them and show them the way out of their depravity. A stagnant church whose members look more like the world they are called to change than the God who saved them is not fit to be an agent of change. Followers of Jesus are not instigators of rebellion, so I prefer to coin my own term. It is time we “revolute” against dead, dry formalism and rules, and live the kind of life Jesus died to make possible for us. We do this not by rebelling against people, but by rejecting worldliness in our own lives, dedicating ourselves to a relationship with Jesus, and following him by life or by death. This is the heart of a Jesus revolutionary. I think you will find my posts enlightening, and I welcome your comments on them. It all starts now, April 18, 2012.

Why go live on this date?

            This blog goes live on April 18 for a reason. In my opinion, April 18 is the most revolutionary and world changing day on the calendar. Henry Wadsworth Longfellow wrote of this day in his 1860 poem, “Paul Revere’s Ride”:

Listen my children and you shall hear
Of the midnight ride of Paul Revere,
On the eighteenth of April, in Seventy-five;
Hardly a man is now alive
Who remembers that famous day and year.

The midnight ride of Paul Revere marked the start of the American Revolutionary War, arguably the most important revolutionary war in history. It started on April 18, 1775, when British troops began their sea voyage to Cambridge, followed by a 17 mile march to Concord. The Battles of Lexington and Concord took place on April 19 and the war was on.

In spite of the historic nature of this event, another revolutionary event that happened on April 18 and 19th exceeds it. It dates back to 1521 when Martin Luther appeared before the Diet of Worms to answer to charges of heresy. On April 18 Luther was asked if he would recant of all the things he had written and taught. When Luther asked for time to think about it, he was given one day to do so. He returned on April 19 and gave this historic response: “My conscience is captive to the word of God. I cannot and will not recant anything, for to go against conscience is neither right nor safe. God help me, Amen.”[1]

Thus started a revolution in the church that is commonly called the Protestant Reformation. Everyone reading this who loves Jesus but is not Roman Catholic or Eastern Orthodox in his faith is a product of the Protestant Reformation. We may not call ourselves Protestants, but we are indebted to Luther as God’s tool to free the true church from the clutches of man-centered religion. The Reformation forever changed the religious face and also the political landscape of the world. God wants to change the world today, and he wants to use you and me to do it. If we want to see change, we need to begin revoluting now. Join me on a journey that will help prepare us to be used by God in this present evil age.


[1] The words, “here I stand; I can do no other,” were probably not uttered by Luther.

9 comments on “Welcome to the RevolutingNow Blog

  1. Tabitha Sharp says:

    Thank you for including me!!

  2. clayinchina says:

    Appreciate all who add their knowledge to this groundbreaking revolutionary blog … for many years I have always enjoyed the Biblical sound wisdom of professor Alt!

  3. Thanks Mr. Alt,

    I look forward to read more!

    Tony

  4. Thanks to all who read my Welcome article. On with it!

  5. mark johnson says:

    Hey Steve, We use the Titanic message when we preach on the Boardwalk. Thanks for standing strong. Blessings to you and yours.
    mark Johnson

  6. Becky Schreiber says:

    Last week on April 19, I literally stood on the Battle Green where “the shot heard around the world” happened 237 years ago. I taught my kids about the war that day and the next day we visited Paul Revere’s house. In my own heart, I was amazed that I was standing in the same spot on the exact same day 237 years later. History is so powerful as it teaches us about who we were, who we are, and who we can be. Thanks for keeping things real here, Mr. Alt. I look forward to reading more of what you have to share!

  7. John and Pat cCormack says:

    We thank you for all you do to advance His kingdom. We are so honored to be a part of your lives.

Leave a Reply

